NetBeans Forums

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Cannot use Run, Debug, or Rails Console: NB 6.9.1 nightly and Rails beta
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
fburleigh

PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 1:45 pm    Post subject: Cannot use Run, Debug, or Rails Console: NB 6.9.1 nightly and Rails beta Reply with quote

I'm new to NB, and ruby/rails is probably my fifth language. Problems are likely. Wink

I used rvm to get ruby 1.9.2-head and to make an rvm gemset for rails 3 beta4 on OS X. NB is 6.9.1 nightly.

I used NB to make a new rails 3 beta4 application. At a command line I can:

rails server

to start webrick and see the app in a browser.

But in NB I can't run or debug the application. I also cannot open a Rails Console. In every case the Ruby interpreter seems to say some variant of "no such directory: script", e.g.:

/Users/burleigh/.rvm/rubies/ruby-1.9.2-head/bin/ruby: No such file or directory -- script/server (LoadError)

So it looks to me like NB doesn't know what to do with rails 3 beta4.

Is there anything I can do about that?
Erno Mononen
Posted via mailing list.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:04 pm    Post subject: Cannot use Run, Debug, or Rails Console: NB 6.9.1 nightly and Rails beta Reply with quote

Hello,

seems that for some reason the IDE doesn't recognize the Rails version
correctly; might have to do with the rvm setup. When you create a new
rails app, do you see beta4 in the Rails version combo box on the last
page of the new Rails app wizard? Or when you go to Tools | Ruby Gems
and choose the ruby 1.9.2-head platform, is beta4 visible there?

Erno

On 07/23/2010 03:46 PM, fburleigh wrote:
Quote:
I'm new to NB, and ruby/rails is probably my fifth language. Problems are likely. ;-)